top of page

Hitting into the light 2, the Hole in 1 Challenge- Proudly supporting beyondblue

The official name will be Hitting into the Light 2, The Hole in 1 Challenge-Proudly supporting beyondblue

What can you do in 12 hours? Drive from Perth to Kalgoorlie and back, fly over half way around the world, sing the Australian national anthem over 360 times in a row, or you could really put yourself out of your comfort zone and do something you have never thought of before.

Hitting into the Light 2, the HOLE IN 1 CHALLENGE is something a little crazy. This is all about challenging myself physically and mentally while raising money and awareness for beyondblue. I once heard great distance runner Rob De Castella say, ‘doing something that is physically challenging is great for a persons wellbeing’ and that is exactly why I am going to push my physical limits. An average game of golf is 4-5 hours long and an average player hits between 80-100 shots. for this challenge, I plan to hit 100 balls per hour for 12 hours, to try and get as many hole in 1’s as possible, remembering I have never had one in nearly 15 years of golf! To find out how hard this is going to be, swing your arms around your body for 60 secs, I will be swinging a golf club every 30 secs for 12 HOURS!

On the 5th of February 2016, thanks to golf club professional Vernon Sexton-Finck, The Western Australian Golf Club driving Range will be the venue for this outrageous challenge. On a purpose made golf hole (legal size and approximately 130 metres long) I will try and get my first ever hole in one. Along with this, I will have to push through pain and fatigue as I constantly hit golf ball after golf ball for 12 hours! Hopefully I can make more than one hole in 1. I plan to share my story, raise funds and create awareness of who beyondblue are and what this great charity does. There will be many hours of training, both for fitness and for technique and I know that I will probably not want to see a golf ball after the challenge for a long time!

So how can YOU support me? Every single cent of money raised will be donated to beyondblue. For a $5 donation, you get to choose a golf ball numbered between 1 and 1200. If you want, you can purchase blocks of balls in multiples of $5 dollar donations (eg $50 gets you 10 balls). In the case of a Hole in One being scored on your numbered ball (the balls are not physically numbered, the number of the shot is tracked on the day and matched to the spreadsheet of everyone that donated), your donation is doubled (ie $5 donation now becomes $10) and you receive a personalised photo and certificate of the day. If your ball is not hit (ie Tom does not make it through the 12 hours) all numbered balls that have not been hit, donations will be refunded. I have set up a paypal account to record donations and I will share these details soon or see website for more details. http://tomhughson.wix.com/hittingintothelight

Business Sponsors (or personal if you want to purchase) have the opportunity to buy one of one hundred '10' balls at a cost of $100 per ball. These are the balls hit at shot 10, 20, 30, 40, 50, 60, 70, 80, 90,100, 110, 120 etc. If a hole in one is scored on your ball, then donation is doubled i.e. $200. You also receive the signed ball and certificate (actual ball used, except if this is the 1st hole in one of the day, I keep that one as a collectable) For this donation your business gets exposure through: Before Event: links to business website on social media, my website, on day signage (sizes to be confirmed and can pay for more than 1), mention in all emails/newsletter to people that donate, After Event: EXTRA IF HOLE IN ONE IN SCORED:Extra press coverage after event, Special mention on all social media after for 1 month with company logo/signage and picture. Feel free to email me for more details on this sponsorship.

WHY DONATE: I am really pushing myself. Even though I love golf, this is going to one of the biggest physical and mental challenges I have attempted. 100% of funds raised go to beyondblue, a great charity, all donations are tax deductible, the more donations the more Tom must play, you get a chance to say you sponsored a hole in one in golf along with helping me to raise awareness of something that has changed my life and many people I know. The bigger this gets, the more coverage beyondblue will get (ie lets get TV and Radio involved).

Thanks and speak with you all soon, I need to go to the range and hit some golf balls,

Tom


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page